Jo Frederiks – Artist for the Animals

Animalista Untamed

So Jo, can you tell us a little bit about yourself. Were you always making art as a child? Was there a moment when you knew that this is what you wanted to do and said to yourself, “I am an artist”?

I was always drawing as far back as I can remember. I loved the solitude of drawing and reading, and still do. When I was about 6, I fell in love with Anna Sewell’s Black Beauty. I read it countless times, which started an obsession with drawing horses.

Drawing 034

Then about 6 years ago when I was predominately a wildlife artist, I felt frustrated and disillusioned with my art. It all seemed rather pointless.

Drawing 014

I asked my partner for advice, and he said, “What are you passionate about?” I immediately replied, “Veganism!” And then proceeded to talk earnestly about the animal holocaust. He said, “Paint it. Paint what you’re…

View original post 634 more words

3 thoughts on “Jo Frederiks – Artist for the Animals

Leave a Reply

